E-books | Detail
Category: Travel Literature, Guide Books(1/3)

E-books | Detail


Author: Peter Milward

Category: Travel Literature, Guide Books
Number of pages: 38
Size: A5

Language: English



Book Summary

In this booklet are to be found meditations on the Holy Rosary (or rose-garden) of the Blessed Virgin Mary, divided into the five Joyful Mysteries, beginning with the Annunciation, the five Sorrowful Mysteries, leading up to the Crucifixion, and the five Glorious Mysteries, culminating in the Coronation of Mary in heaven. And based on the witness of Mary to the Gospel of the Infancy, the Gospel of the Passion, and the Gospel of the Resurrection. That makes fifteen decades (ten repetitions of the Hail Mary), adding up to 150, according to the number of the Psalms, and so the Rosary is also called Our Lady's Psalter. The mysteries are famously illustrated by Fra Angelico (15th century) in the Convent of San Marco in Florence.

Author Profile

Peter Milward was born in London on October 12, 1925, and educated at Wimbledon College (a Jesuit high school). He entered the Society of Jesus in 1943, and after various studies he went on to specialize in the Classics and English at Oxford University. He came to Japan in 1954 and after further studies was ordained priest in 1960. From 1962 onwards he has taught English literature at Sophia University in Tokyo. In addition to founding the Renaissance Institute, the Hopkins Society of Japan and the Chesterton Society of Japan, he has published some 400 books, mostly as textbooks for Japanese students, many of them translated into Japanese, but now most of them out of print. Several of his books, especially those on the drama of Shakespeare and the poetry of Hopkins, have been published in England and America. Even in retirement he is still teaching and writing, as he enters his 88th year (or beiju).

From the Author