E-books | Detail
Category: Research, Non-fiction(4/10)

E-books | Detail


Author: Peter Milward

Category: Research, Non-fiction
Number of pages: 352
Size: A5

Language: English



Book Summary

It was TS Eliot who spoke of a 'pattern in Shakespeare's plays', to be recognized only when all the plays are seen together, instead (as is usually the case) separately one by one. This is the pattern presented in this book, by taking famous passages from 15 of the more famous plays, 5 comedies, 5 tragedies, and 5 tragi-comedies, following the rough order of composition. Through them one may come to see what may be called 'the heart of Shakespeare's mystery'.

Author Profile

Peter Milward was born in London on October 12, 1925, and educated at Wimbledon College (a Jesuit high school). He entered the Society of Jesus in 1943, and after various studies he went on to specialize in the Classics and English at Oxford University. He came to Japan in 1954 and after further studies was ordained priest in 1960. From 1962 onwards he has taught English literature at Sophia University in Tokyo. In addition to founding the Renaissance Institute, the Hopkins Society of Japan and the Chesterton Society of Japan, he has published some 400 books, mostly as textbooks for Japanese students, many of them translated into Japanese, but now most of them out of print. Several of his books, especially those on the drama of Shakespeare and the poetry of Hopkins, have been published in England and America. Even in retirement he is still teaching and writing, as he enters his 88th year (or beiju).

From the Author